Sharing a Workspace

Learn how to control access to workspaces and their resources.

Five has been working in the orbital-dev workspace β€” a development sandbox with a local Kubernetes environment (kind) and LocalStack for AWS service emulation. Rex Park, a developer on the Orbital Labs Development team, needs access so he can deploy the microservices-baseline design and test his service changes without touching staging.

Here is how Five shares the orbital-dev workspace with Rex.

In your browser, go to Layer5 Cloud.

  1. Click the design you want to share (microservices-baseline in Five’s case).
  2. Click Share.
  3. Enter Rex’s email address ([email protected]).
  4. Set the permission level β€” Five gives Rex edit access so he can deploy and modify the design.
  5. Click Send.

Flow for sharing designs

Rex receives an invitation and can now open microservices-baseline in the orbital-dev workspace.

After you share a workspace, you can stop sharing at any time. You can also control whether the people you’ve shared with can edit, comment on, or further share your workspace.

If Five later wants to remove Rex’s individual design access (for example, when the feature is merged and the design no longer needs collaborative review), he can:

  1. Open the design and click Share
  2. Find Rex in the list of people with access
  3. Change Rex’s permission to No access or click Remove

Important:

At any time, a design can only be edited on up to 25 open tabs or devices. If there are more than 25 instances of the design open, only the owner and some users with editing permissions can edit the design. A single design can only be shared with up to 600 individual email addresses.

To share and collaborate on a design with a very wide audience:

If you need multiple people to open a design without making it broadly discoverable, publish the design and then create a restricted link to share only with those who have access. You can grant edit access to people who need to edit or comment on the design. Learn how to publish a design.

  • If many people need to open a design, publish it and share the link. You can give edit access to people who need to edit or comment on the design.
  • Depending on your account’s settings, publishing a design makes it visible to everyone on the web, everyone in your organization, or a defined group.
  • To remove a design from the web, stop publishing it.

If you share a design with people, the owner and anyone with edit access can change sharing permissions.

Delete a shared design

If you delete a shared design that you own:

  • People who can view, comment, or edit can make a copy of the design until you permanently delete it.
  • To permanently delete the design, click the design in your trash and click Delete forever.

You might see “anonymous user” viewing your design. This can happen when a design is shared publicly or with anyone who has the link.

Someone you don’t know might be viewing your design because:

  • The design is shared with a mailing list.
  • The design is shared with someone who doesn’t have a Layer5 account or isn’t signed in.
  • Someone who can edit your design shared it further.

Related Reading